top of page
  • Writer's pictureJae East

Take a Few Steps Back.

It is an impossible task to speak for everyone in the room, let alone everyone in a city, or state, or country. But there are people that still attempt to do it. I am not one of those people, never have been, never will be. I can only speak for myself and probably the select few that may agree with me in terms of my thinking or processing. With that being said, I and maybe those select few have found myself at several different points in my life set lofty goals. Overly ambitious expectations that I have decided to achieve, and in the process of achieving, holding myself accountable towards. Now while this can work, and look amazing when it does, it is not realistic. Because it is not realistic, it is hard to replicate successfully. These leads directly into the subject of this message. Sometimes you have to take a few steps back.


There are several reasons why you may want to ( or need to) take a few steps back from what you may have been doing or planning to get done. And while taking steps back seem counterproductive, as you are moving backwards, it can be the exact opposite if your mentality and approach is different.


Sometimes more space is needed to execute the plan, and sometimes more space can only be achieved by taking those steps back. Sometimes you can be too involved (or too INTO) the execution that you cannot see the bigger picture, while that picture may have changed. Sometimes you have to humble yourself because you are moving too fast or too recklessly to be ready for the progress that will occur. There are many reasons to take a few steps back, I just named those few to serve as an example.


When it seems as if you are stuck in place the answer may be exactly that. It is not that you are STUCK per se, but that you cannot go forward from where you are. Maybe there is still the possibility of going laterally or even back to find the correct steps to move you further along than where you were. At the same token, you can decide that you are happy where you are, and not stuck at all. Or you can decide to take a few steps back because you enjoyed where you were before.


We all have many reasons that it may make sense to take a step or two (or more) back. It is your decision to make. And ultimately, whatever you decide is what you decide. Anyone else's opinion on the matter does not matter much anyway. After all, its your legs that are doing the moving. You decide where your legs take the rest of you. The decision you make is your decision. Go live life and make the tough decisions easier.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Normal? What is Normal Anyway?

Have you ever stopped to think about how many people are on this planet? Not the city or town you may live in, but the planet. Think about that for a second. I did a quick check (like really quick)

Love.

The Secret Sauce (That isn't so secret anymore!)

I consider myself a somewhat foodie. By that, I look forward and go out of my way to try different foods from different restaurants, cultures, cuisines, and lifestyles. And one of the food items I h

bottom of page